Telemarketers

Sometimes, I find some of the lines used by telemarketers quite funny when they are not annoying. Ten minutes ago, I got a call from one of them on behalf of The Record, the local newspaper. The conversation went like this:

Telemarketer: Good evening, how are you doing Sir?
Me: I’m doing fine, thank you.
Telemarketer: Sir, I’m calling on befalf of The Record, and the reason why I’m calling is that The Record would like to offer you a six day delivery for x number of dollars.
Me: I’m sorry, I don’t have time to read newspapers.
Telemarketer: How about you try it on week-ends?
Me: I don’t have time even on week-ends. I work full-time, study part-time, and also have a baby.
Telemarketer: Sir, I know you can do some reading on top of your studies.
Me (annoyed): You are are saying I can have some free time to read newspapers, even with A BABY?
Telemarketer: Okay then. Thank you Sir.

Honestly, I don’t have time to read newspapers. In the very case that I do, I go on The Record’s website and read the headlines there. What annoyed me was that she did not take the time to listen to what I said, and  was too eager to tell me what I can or cannot do. I could have been meaner and told her, “How about you come to my place and babysit while I read the newspaper? 

I don’t mind taking the calls of telemarketers from time to time. They are making a living making the calls. However, what I don’t like is for someone to tell me what to do.

6 Responses to Telemarketers

  1. curiousEngine says:

    They have been trained with the scripts and deal with situations with clients on the phone. Maybe if you had been meaner, it would be for them like handling another difficult situation at work.

  2. Patrick Ng says:

    You may be right. They probably get a lot of difficult calls to deal with everyday and learned who to deal with them. I can put our number on the Do Not Call List, but I will probably miss some good calls. One time, I was call asked to participate in a survey for $100.00🙂

  3. carineattan says:

    I seldom read newspapers, not because I don’t have time. Just not my habit. The husband is thinking of having the newspapers delivered to us as he must always buy and read everyday.

  4. Patrick Ng says:

    I read “Le Mauricien” online. I also check out the flyers regularly to know about sales going on during the week.

  5. aline says:

    Asked to participate in a survey for $100 ? I would probably have said no because I would think that it was a scam instead. Is it usual in Canada?

  6. Patrick Ng says:

    I said yes because it was from my bank. Yes, it’s quite usual in Canada.

Leave a Reply

