Cooking

Since I’ve been back from vacation I have not cooked a single meal at home. I have been either eating out (Vietnamese cuisine) or eating microwave dinner. It’s very hard to find the motivation to cook for only one person. However, yesterday was different. Yesterday I wanted to treat myself with a nice homemade meal. So, I cooked myself a nice “salmi de boeuf” which I enjoyed with a glass of wine. Since my wife was not here, I could make the dish as hot as I wanted🙂 I should have made more. It’s one of those dishes that are even better the next day. Oh well.

I wonder what I’ll cook next…

5 Responses to Cooking

  1. Angele says:

    I don’t even know how to cook “beef salmi”! Shame on me.

    Today I’m too tired and lazy to cook. Plus I really have no idea what to eat. So, I guess it’s just gonne be some instant noodle. “Mine appollo” is so convenient in times like these! Hahaha.

  2. Patrick Ng says:

    Well, it’s one of few recipes that I know. “Mine Apollo” can be handy at times. We always have instant noodles at home for the few times when we don’t feel like cooking anything, but don’t want to go out either.

  3. Carine says:

    It’s pretty handy over here too! We don’t have Mine Apollo but many other brands and I will just add a lot of veggies to the noodles. Sometimes I ask people who are coming from Mauritius to send me some Mine Apollo! It was my favourite back in Mauritius and I often used to eat it late at night if I get hungry!🙂

  4. Carine says:

    Is “Beef salmi” “roti boeuf”? The one that has lots of whole black peppers and is roasted for a couple of hours? And then it’s eaten with a homemade mayonnaise sauce??

  5. Patrick Ng says:

    No, they are not the same although a nice roast beef à la mauricienne and homemade mayonnaise is equally delicious. The beef salmi has cloves and cinnamon but but also sweet red wine and you let it cook for a while. You then add one or two tomatoes when it’s close to being done. Some people like the beef salmi quite hot.

Leave a Reply

